After yesterday’s SEG eRacing U23 opener in the Borrego Springs Crit, which was won by Jordi Meeus, today it was the turn for the Paterberg Classic. The Belgian rider, started the eRace with the pink leaders jersey with more than 30 riders in the same time slot in the overall classification. The race was off to a fast start, holding a high pace all the way to the first time that they tackled the infamous Paterberg. In the steep cobbled section the race broke down to several groups, with the first two merging shortly and featuring 12 riders. 

The front group was slowly loosing riders, including race leader Jordi Meeus who tried to come back several but was eventually left behind. As the race hit the final 10 km, the leading group featured six riders, including Marco Frigo, Harrison Wood and Thymen Arensman. Despite several attacks among them, the group of six got together to the last lap up the Paterberg. With two kilometers to go, Harrison Wood launched a very brave attack before the Paterberg. Even though that the British rider got into the hard slopes of the cobbled climb with a handful of meters to the chasers, it was Paul Wright who jumped off the group and overcame Wood to claim the stage win and move up to the overall lead, with Sindre Kulset from UNOX Norwegian Development in second place followed by Harrison Wood, Thymen Arensman and Marco Frigo. 

The rider from New Zealand will have and advantage of four seconds to Wood, Arensman and Frigo coming into tomorrow’s SEG eRacing U23 Series finale up the Mont Ventoux.