“I’m confident that we’ll do a good race.” says Vasilis Anastopoulos ahead of Olympia’s Tour

Tomorrow we will kick off the last U23 stage race of the season, the Olympia’s Tour. The six-day long competition will start in Eelde with a 4,5 km long prologue and will be followed up with predominantly flat stages around The Netherlands, before hitting the punchy hills of Limburg in the final day. Olympia’s Tour it is a big goal, and that’s why we present a talented 6-man line-up that will allow us a wide open variety of chances for stage wins as well as for the final GC. 

Performance Manager and DS for the race, Vasilis Anastopoulos, highlights the ambitions and goals of the team as well as the important points to follow during the coming week: 

“Olympia’s Tour is one of the most important races in our calendar, so our aim is to show ourselves as much as possible. For sure winning a stage and scoring a high place in the final general classification is our goal. Most of the guys just finished Tour de L’Avenir  and the rest did a series of one day races so they have the necessary racing kilometers in their legs in order to perform best at this race. They are all in a good shape and everyone is determined to his part of the job. We need to have a good start in the prologue and then go for stage wins at the first 4 stages with Fabio. This race is a typical Dutch, the riders will be racing through narrow roads, exposed on the wind, so they have to be ready for echelons and splits in the peloton at any point. The most important day on paper will be the last one, a hard stage in the area of Limburg, the stage that the winner of the final classification will be decided. Apart from that we need to keep our eyes open though, because there might be some surprises even on the short and flat stages where everyone is expecting a mass sprint. Our guys are familiar with this kind of racing and well prepared, so I’m quite confident that we’ll do a good race!”

Line up: Ide Schelling, Fabio Jakobsen, Edoardo Affini, Julius van den Berg, Marten Kooistra & Jan Maas.